Locked and Loaded!

Standard

After a brief moment of panic on Saturday morning when I ran into crazy traffic at the Brooklyn Bridge exit on the FDR Drive and thinking I’d miss my appointment AGAIN, I am officially locked and loaded.

I went to Nubian Kinks in Brooklyn and met with Luna who started my locs for me. She washed my hair, gave me a steam treatment, then started twisting.  I am 80% happy with my parts.  I would have done some things differently and maybe made them a little bigger, but overall I’m ok with them because I know that they will shift and change over time.  I can always combine if I want to, and honestly I *may* readjust some of these parts over the weekend.  We’ll see.  My only complaint was that Luna was quite heavy handed with the oils she put in my hair and when I left the salon my twists were literally DRIPPING with oil.  I mean DRIPPING like I had a jherri curl.  I grabbed some napkins in Starbucks while waiting for my friend to meet me after my hair appointment and used them to squeeze out some of the oils in my hair.  The napkins were soaked with the excess oil.  I didn’t even want to think about leaving all of that in my hair for a week or more, so I came home, bought a wig cap from the nearby beauty supply store and washed my hair…  again.  Then because I wasn’t feeling the flat lifeless look of my starter locs, I did bantu knots for each twists and rocked a bantu knot out for work today, aka The Big Reveal.  I’ll probably wear my hair like this until the coils fall, which will hopefully take me into next weekend.  Overall, I’m happy with my experience at Nubian Kinks and would return there again for another appointment – although next time I’d definitely ask Luna to lighten up on the oil.  For the most part tho I intend to maintain at home.

Here are some pics.  I took these with my phone so they aren’t the best quality.  I PROMISE I’ll have better pics later this week.

This is right after my hair appointment waiting for my friend in Target.  The twists look good but they were greasy to the touch from all of the oil. (You see what aisle I’m in, right?  I’m already looking at hair stuff for my new starter locs!)

This is is a pic from this morning, my bantu knot out.  Scalpy but that’s to be expected.  I’m typing this up at about 11pm, and they’ve already loosed up a little.

I just sleep with a satin bonnet so I don’t flaten it out… and that’s about it.  The waiting game begins.  Not sure if I’m gonna wash weekly or very two weeks.  Guess that’ll depend on how much time I have this coming weekend and how my scalp feels.

Leave a Reply

